I see via social media some people disagreed with my vote on the Marriage (Definition of Marriage) Amendment Bill.

It was a conscience vote.  That means each MP votes according to their conscience and not along party lines.  I am a social conservative, and my vote reflected my views, but what I felt was the general feeling.  In fact, I received no contact from anyone asking me to vote for it.

The Bill now goes to select committee for discussion.  I hope those with strongly held views will make a cogent and well-reasoned argument to the select committee.

I have my office, website, facebook page, and twitter account –and democracy is about engagement – so if you have a point of view you want to discuss, I’m always happy to hear it.  We need more people involved in discussion – not the aftermath.